Transporting Marijuana: State Laws

 

The legal implications of transporting marijuana within a particular state will depend on the laws of the individual state. First of all, if marijuana is illegal in a particular state, the transportation of the drug will also be illegal in that state. In states that have made marijuana legal, on the other hand, the laws related to the transportation of marijuana are different depending on if the person is a business or an individual. For example, in Colorado, an individual who transfers one ounce or less of marijuana will not be penalized if he or she is at least 21 years old and doesn't receive money for the transfer.

However, it's important to note that businesses are generally treated differently. States that have legalized marijuana require businesses to be licensed by the state before they can legally transport the drug. For example, in order for a person to transport marijuana within Colorado for his or her business, the person needs to have a license from the State Licensing Authority as well as from the relevant local authorities. In Washington, transporting marijuana requires a person to have a marijuana retailer license and comply with specific transportation requirements.

 

Since these requirements differ from state to state, it's important to check in with your state's licensing authorities before transporting marijuana within your home state.

Authorization to transport

$49.00Price

    © Copyrights 2018 by MKG Tax Consultants Powered by MKG Enterprises Corp Investors

    • s-facebook
    • Twitter Metallic
    • Google Metallic
    • s-linkedin